just a little honey whiskey

Slowly getting back into the kitchen and it is such sweet sweet therapy for the mind and soul.  During high-stress times, doing something with my hands is the best thing to keep me level-headed and present (after all, I don’t want chop my fingers off while my thoughts wander elsewhere).  The love for working with our hands is one of the top qualities that the significant lover and I have in common, who I have to do a shout out to before I get down to the recipe business.  Thanks a whole potato sack load to this guy:

significant lover

From taking me whale-watching on the church of the sea to patiently waiting for the calm as 6 days of work turn into 7, he keeps it fun and simple.  Enough mushy-mushy.

SO!  If you didn’t happen to catch my status on Facebook, then you may not know that my teaser for this post was: Jack Daniels.  Having taken an interest in whiskey and scotch, my pop passed me a bottle of:

slow like honey

Too sweet for him to drink and I still haven’t actually tried it in a glass, I started thinking up ways to use it.  To get me started, Chez Spence had a great idea for whiskey-glazed salmon, check out the original post here, the cooking happens towards the end of the post.  So are you with me to find out if “this whiskey glaze are a serious fucking match made in heaven” as Chez Spence says?

honey honey

For my version I skipped the chutney; I wanted the whiskey to do the heavy lifting:

~ 2 salmon filets

~ 1/2 cup honey whiskey

~ 1 tbsp low sodium soy sauce

~ 1/2 tbsp brown sugar (I cut it down from Chez Spence’s)

~ 2 tsp whole grain Dijon mustard (I dig the extra texture)

~ sea salt and freshly cracked pepper

~ olive oil for the pan.

Preheat the oven to 400. Simmer the honey whiskey, soy sauce, brown sugar, and mustard until reduced so that it has thickened into a nice glaze, the flavors have combined.  Get your salmon ready by seasoning with salt and pepper before browning both sides in a hot oiled skillet.  Once browned, place your salmon on a foil lined baking sheet.  Glaze those fishies up, covering the sides as well and pop in the oven for 5 minutes.  I skipped the second glazing that Chez Spence performs when the fish is taken out of the oven.  You have plenty of glaze to do so but I thought one brushing was perfect for the right amount of honey-whiskey to contrast against the natural tastiness of the fish.

I served the salmon over a bed of spinach (my attempt at sneaking in more veggies) with some goat cheese risotto and broccoli.

Try it out kids!

Leave a Reply

