just a little puff

The beginning of the year always makes me want to simultaneously clean house and take on new assignments.  The struggle is that I have some residual tasks that I need to get done leftover from 2011 before I start biting off more.  However, I thought it would be helpful (for me) to throw out these ideas and see what the pulse is on a few line items: do I want a justalittlepiece Facebook page and/or twitter, revamp the overall look of the blog, do I delete my surplus of old unused and used foodie pictures, and do I step it up a notch with my own domain and gain a little creative freedom.  Comments and criticism on these are welcome.

Okay, back to why we are all here.

This little delight was concocted before my recent acquisition of a food processor so I didn’t make the puff pastry myself which I will just go ahead and admit.  You may say I’ve lived under a rock but it wasn’t until this past year that I had my first baked brie.  Like many of the recipes that I found on the matter, the round of brie was topped with apricot preserve and wrapped in puff pastry. DELISH!  After nibbling on my second helping of the sweet cheesy goodness, I couldn’t help but wonder how it would taste with my aunt’s pomegranate preserves.  There’s only one way to find out!

First thing to do is to take out your puff pastry (if using frozen varieties) as soon as you have a craving for it.  You want it to thaw out according to instructions otherwise you’re gonna have pretty poor puff.  Once that is taken care of you can get to work at wrapping up your brie.  I used a wedge not a round, which made folding possibly more tricky but I can’t be sure.

 I had a bit of extra puff pastry so I twirled it up into a rose for presentation.  Bake according to specifications for your puff pastry.

Serve with sliced crusty bread (the more texture the better for the gooey cheese to get into), crackers, apples, etc.  Using the pomegranate preserves added a tang to the overall flavor that made the taste buds sizzle!

Enjoy and don’t forget to read up on my latest San Diego foodie find!

Leave a Reply

