just a little breakfast…like dad

Eggs and I have maintained an on-again-off-again relationship since I was small.  I know that once upon a time I enjoyed a good scrambled egg with cheese until suddenly I woke up and found them completely gross.  It happened just like that, I swear.  Well, I don’t really know for sure but that’s the best I have for an explanation.  This probably happened around the age of six or seven.  Years went by and the only breakfast foods I ate were the ones that came with syrup or chocolate chips (i.e. brownies).  My face twisted up every time I was asked if I wanted any eggs. 

This went on until I was in my twenties, twisted face and all, until I was having breakfast with my dear cuzzie who is one of those vegetarians who still eats eggs.  I was in the mood for something new and different rather than my usual whole grain pancakes.  My cuzzie was ordering huevos rancheros with egg whites only and I thought well that doesn’t sound so bad.  After all, with huevos rancheros you get all that yummy beans, salsa, green onion, and tortilla to mask the yucky eggs.

The rest is history.  I eat eggs almost every day for breakfast; the yolk has to be runny or else egg whites only!  Look I even eat eggs on toast just like my dad:

3 Comments to “just a little breakfast…like dad”

  1. It looks amazing. I’m going to go cook something now that I’m inspired.

  2. Wow, what a great photo, C! I’m a runny yolk girl as well! 🙂

Leave a Reply

